Archive for the ‘Cosmetology Licensing’ Category

Washington State Changes Esthetician Licensing Law

Thursday, May 2nd, 2013

In the field of beauty, the regulations are constantly changing. This is because technological advances are forever enhancing the treatments and services that can be given. The field of esthetics is currently being affected by advancements, and these changes are creating a need for adjustments to be made in the current regulations.

First and foremost, the beauty industry generated $60 billion in revenue in 2008, and by 2011, this rate rose by 5.3 percent. A portion of this profit was earned by estheticians who are currently employed by medical spas, clinics and even by dermatologists.

Esthetician Performing Laser Hair Removal

The state of Washington currently has laws implemented that require an esthetician to have 600 hours of training from a licensed school. A student must pass an examination given by the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL). Once the 600 hours of training have been completed, a licensed esthetician is able to use lasers under the supervision of a physician, according to the regulations enforced by the Medical Quality Assurance Commission. Seems simple, right? Well, the issue lies with the fact that during the course of a 600-hour training program, it’s not feasible to fit laser training into the curriculum; even basic laser training is difficult to be squeezed into such a short time span.

As of right now, the laser training rests on the shoulders of the business that hires the esthetician, and there are no set standards as to how it is done. In fact, the laser training can consist of a few hours of instruction from the person who sells the company a laser and that person then spreads the word to the rest of the staff. In some instances, an employee may go through private lessons, and who pays for it depends on the company that hires the esthetician. And some estheticians opt to go out of state to well-known facilities for more comprehensive training. One laser clinic has spent more than $25,000 to send her estheticians for out-of-state training.

Originally, the Northwest Aestheticians’ Guild proposed that schools begin offering a 1,200-hour training, but this idea was shot down, since it would cause people to have to learn more than just the traditional practice of esthetics. Not to mention, it would harm schools because it would lead to them being required to double their training, which could possibly put them out of business.

The bill that’s set to go into law will increase the 600-hour training to 750 hours. This will help familiarize students with the new technologies, and it will give the students more opportunities to practice. Laser services will not be part of the 750-hour certification curriculum, and all estheticians will no longer be able to give infections. A new license will be created known as the master esthetician license, which consists of 1,200 hours of training and includes instruction on lasers and medium-depth peels. Skincare professionals who have a 600-hour esthetician license will automatically be grandfathered into the 750-hour license. Anyone who now has an esthetician license will have five different ways to become eligible for the master esthetician license, and it gives current estheticians until January 1, 2015 to qualify for the master esthetician license by being grandfathered in.

Pennsylvania Changes Cosmetology Training Hour Requirements

Monday, December 17th, 2012

State Representative Keith Gillespie

Pennsylvania Governor Tom Corbett has signed into law a bill aimed at increasing the success rate for cosmetology students. Pennsylvania House Bill 1868 reduces the number of training hours required in Pennsylvania before the student can sit for the written/theoretical portion of the exam from 1,250 hours to 900 hours. The prior Pennsylvania cosmetology license requirements called for all 1250 hours to be completed before the student was eligible to take either or both portions of the exam.

Students at beauty schools in Pennsylvania are still required to complete 1,250 total hours of cosmetology training before they can take the hands-on/practical portion of the exam and become fully licensed. How does this help make students more successful, you ask? Because if the student does not meet the minimum score to pass the written portion of the exam, fortunately they are still in school and can get the additional help they need from their beauty school instructors to sit for the exam again and pass.

There are multiple beauty disciplines that are licensed in Pennsylvania, and each has its own number of required hours to be able to sit for the exams and become licensed. Barbers are required to take 1250 hours, the same as cosmetologists, but there is no word yet on whether barber licenses will get the same benefit cosmetology licensees do from the passage of this law. Other licenses are esthetician (300 hours), nail technicians (200 hours) and cosmetology instructors (500 hours), which will likely be unaffected by this change.

In the press release, State Representative Keith Gillespie, who is the primary sponsor of Tennessee HB1868, said this bill came to fruition after being contacted by Debbie Dunn, the director of the Lancaster School of Cosmetology. She proposed this solution as a way to help the students falling through the cracks in the process of getting their education, becoming licensed and getting gainful employment.

Are Cosmetology State License Fees Going Up?

Wednesday, May 18th, 2011


In some states like Virginia, officials are asking for a bigger percent when barbers, hairstylists and cosmetologists get their cosmetology state licenses. The Virginia Board of  Cosmetology has proposed almost doubling the license fees for individuals and facilities it regulates.

The current cosmetology license fee for barbers, cosmetologists and nail technicians to get a cosmetology license is $75. The cost covers validation for two years. The board has propose nearly doubling this fee and charging $140 to obtain a two year license.

“It’s reflecting the increased cost of doing business,” said Mary Vaughn, the director of communications, legislation and consumer education at the state Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.
Increasing this fee would also cause other licensing fees to rise. Licensing fees for salons and other facilities also would increase from $115 to $225. Licensing fees for beauty schools would go from $145 to $255.

Why the big increases? Is it really necessary? The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology says it needs the fee increases because the agency is self-supporting. The Board’s side is they rely on the fees to cover the costs for its operations, which include inspectors’ salaries and website management.

The proposal was approved by Jim Cheng, Virginia’s secretary of commerce of trade, this past April. The licensing fee increases are now waiting for Gov. Bob McDonnell’s signature. Upon signature the higher fees would do into effect immediately. To see what all the old and new proposed fees are for all areas of beauty in Virginia, visit

State law requires all individuals employed in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, hair braiding, tattooing, body-piercing, esthetics and hair braiding to have a valid issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. For questions, contact the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology.

Should Hair Braiders Be Required To Have a Cosmetology License? North Carolina says “Yes!”

Friday, July 2nd, 2010

It became official July 1. North Carolin hair law now requires anyone who braids hair to have their cosmetology license. Why the sudden regulation? Health concerns! Many customers complained to North Carolina legislation about insanitary conditions and head wounds received at their salons.

“People often got lacerations on the scalp because the braiding was too tight for their hair,” said Rep. Earline Parmon, D-Forsyth. Now, state law enforced by the State Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners requires all hair braiders to obtain a cosmetology license in North Carolina. The process involves passing a  state cosmetology exam, which usually has two parts: a written portion and a practical portion.

Sounds simple enough, right? Wrong! Many hair braiders are from West Africa and primarily speak French, knowing little English. Passing the cosmetology exam suddenly becomes a huge obstacle. Many salon owners are worried that they will be forced to close shop and lose their jobs due to being unable to meet these new requirements. Parmon tries to reassure saying, “I will do whatever is necessary to make sure that these people have a fair chance.”

It’s going to be an interesting road up ahead.

For information on this topic:

How to obtain a cosmetology license for hair braiding:

Cosmetology Schools in North Carolina