Cosmetology Schools in Arkansas
Cosmetology schools in Arkansas provide a good opportunity for students who want to become licensed cosmetologists or to pursue careers in similar personal care occupations. Dubbed the "Natural State", you can enjoy Arkansas' parks and wildlife while attending cosmetology schools in Arkansas.
State-approved schools provide the courses necessary to be able to take the examination required by the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology. In addition to successfully completing the training at a state-approved school, students are also required to pass the state exam. To satisfy Arkanasas cosmetology licensing requirements, students must complete 1,500 hours of professional training at an approved school; nail technicians are required to complete 600 hours, and estheticians are likewise required to complete 600 hours.
Attending one of the many beauty schools in Arkansas can pay off in career earnings. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), cosmetologists, hairdressers, and hairstylists in Arkansas earn an average of $26,620 annually. The average hourly wage is $12.80—more than twice the state’s minimum wage of $6.25 per hour. Nationally, the BLS estimates the number of personal care professionals will grow by 16 percent between 2010 and 2020—adding more than 200,000 positions throughout the country.
For those looking to attend one of the many beauty schools in Arkansas, joining the current 1,740 personal care professionals may prove to be a good move.
Other Helpful Searches