Illinois Cosmetology Licensing Requirements
Illinois: Prairie State
If you are interested in getting your Illinois cosmetology license or other beauty license, below is all the information you need to know about getting licensed in the Prairie State!
Barber: 1500 Barber School Hours
Cosmetologist: 1500 Cosmetology School Hours
Electrologist: 600 Electrolysis Training Hours
Esthetician: 750 Esthetics School Hours
Massage Therapist: 500 Massage School Hours
Nail Technician: 350 Nail School Hours
Must be at least 16 years of age.
Must have at least 8th grade education.
Must have high school diploma or equivalent, or take the Ability to Benefit test.
Illinois cosmetology license reciprocity is based on the laws in the issuing state, as compared to Illinois law at the time of licensure. The state does grant endorsement on a case-by-case basis, and does consider work experience for credit.
Illinois cosmetology licenses and esthetician licenses must be renewed by September 30 in every odd year. This state requires continuing education hours to renew your license: cosmetology - 14 hours, nail techs - 10 hours, estheticians - 10 hours. To renew your license in Illinois, you must provide the following to the IL cosmetology board:
- Renewal form
- Proof of continuing education hours
IL State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information:
Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
320 West Washington
Springfield, IL 62786
Find IL Cosmetology SchoolsBeautySchool.com offers you the ability to search for Illinois cosmetology schoolsin your area to find a quality institution that fits your needs. Upon completing your program, you can obtain your state licensure and begin a rewarding career in beauty.