West Virginia Cosmetology Licensing Requirements

West Virginia: The Mountain State

If you are interested in getting your West Virginia cosmetology license or other beauty license, below is all the information you need to know about getting licensed in the Mountain State!

Licenses Available:

Required Hours:
Esthetician: 600 Esthetics School Hours
Barber: 2000 Barber School Hours
Cosmetologist: 2000 Beauty School Hours
Manicurist: 400 Nail School Hours

License Requirements:
Must be at least 18 years of age.
Must have high school diploma or GED.
Must be judged of "good moral character."

Applicant must hold a current out-of-state license and have completed training hours of equal or greater quantity as those required by West Virginia. Credit is given for work experience, up to 300 hours for one year. Manicurists are not eligible for license by reciprocity and must pass board exam, state practical exam, state law exam and national written exam.

West Virginia cosmetology licenses are valid for two years. West Virginia requires 25 continuing education hours every two years. To renew your cosmetology license in West Virginia, the following must be submitted to the WV cosmetology board:
- Fee
- Renewal form
- Proof of continuing education hours

WV State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information:
West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

1201 Dunbar Avenue
Dunbar, WV 25064
Telephone: (304) 558-2924
Fax: (304) 558-3450

BeautySchool.com offers you the ability to search for West Virginia cosmetology schools in your area to find a quality institution that fits your needs. Upon completing your program, you can obtain your state licensure and begin a rewarding career in beauty.